More info needed on realtime rendering

I came here after hearing about ES in the credits of a documentary on DMT. I thought the visuals were absolutely stunning in that movie, hands down the best I had ever seen. And that is saying a *LOT* coming from a die hard Milkdrop fan.

However, I must admit I was pretty saddened by the whole concept of how ES runs. As a programmer myself, I understand the coolness of how it acts as a networked form of artificial intelligence. However, the coolness is outweighed by the fact that it's totally unusable.

I'd say that the most common form of visualization viewing these days is with music, as is evidenced by other posts on this forum and around the net. And for that, Milkdrop still remains king.

I see that in the responses to questions of why ES can't run like Milkdrop, the replies are fairly lacking in detail, and quite frankly, in believability. It is said that ES is very processor intensive. Ok, I get that. I would expect it, given that the beauty of the images is unrivaled by any other visualization program.

However, I haven't seen any good explanation of why the rendering is so slow that it can't possibly ever be done in real-time. Or for why the quality couldn’t be slightly lessened to allow for it.

For example, Milkdrop renders at 60fps on a 1920x1080 HD monitor. I've seen it casually said on here that ES takes an hour to render ONE frame. Which means ES renders 216,000 (60 * 60 * 60) times slower than Milkdrop. Some sheep are definitely nicer, but they are in no way 200k times nicer.

Which leads me to my main point. I think the quality/render time ratio is far, far, far past the point of diminishing returns if it renders 200k slower than an image that it only looks roughly 2 or 3 times (subjective, I know) better than.